HomeRWAsRWA week: a central-bank MoU, stocks as collateral, vault credit and a...

RWA week: a central-bank MoU, stocks as collateral, vault credit and a Solana merger

Four real-world-asset (RWA) stories landed on 7 October 2026, and they sit at four different stages of maturity. Kazakhstan’s central bank has signed an exploratory memorandum with Tether; nothing has been issued [1]. Binance has switched on four tokenised securities as margin collateral, with a 50% collateral ratio in two account modes [2][3]. Trading firm GSR has committed $100 million to a new onchain vault business, Hare [4]. And two Solana protocols, Orca and Loopscale, have merged as Formation, with plans that are still mostly forward-looking [5].

The short answer: one live product change (Binance), one funded launch (Hare), one corporate combination (Formation) and one study agreement (Kazakhstan). Read each at its own stage. No investment advice follows.

The week at a glance

StoryStageConfirmedStill open
Kazakhstan NBK–Tether MoUExploratory MoUStudy of a tenge-pegged stablecoin; tokenisation pilot planned in Alatau City [1]No decision to issue; no timeline, size or reserve design published [1]
Binance bStocks as collateralLive product changeFour tokens (JPMB, LLYB, SECZB, USDEB) accepted from 7 Oct; 50% ratio in Cross Margin and Portfolio Margin [2][3]How the collateral behaves under stress; uptake figures not published
GSR → Hare vaultsFunded launch$100m multi-year commitment, mostly a credit facility; Aave-powered stablecoin and gold vaults [4]Outside investor demand; vault yields and risk limits not detailed in coverage [4]
Orca + Loopscale = FormationMerger announcedCombined team, CEO named, partner list, ORCA/xORCA retained [5]Financial terms undisclosed; issuer tools due over the next 12 months [5]

1. Kazakhstan’s central bank and Tether: an agreement to study, not to issue

Confirmed. The National Bank of Kazakhstan (NBK), Tether and the Alatau City Authority signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to study stablecoins, asset tokenisation and decentralised finance, according to the parties’ press release reported by CoinDesk on 7 October 2026 [1].

Three strands are named [1]:

  • A tenge stablecoin, as a question. The group will study how local-currency stablecoins work elsewhere, identify possible uses and prepare a proposal for a pilot. CoinDesk is explicit that the agreement is exploratory and “does not amount to a decision to issue the stablecoin” [1].
  • A tokenisation pilot in Alatau City. The parties will identify which asset types might suit tokenisation and plan a pilot in Alatau, a city operating under a special legal regime designed partly to encourage financial technology [1].
  • Training. Tether and the Kazakh authorities will run workshops on stablecoin reserves, issuance and tokenisation for central bank staff and other government agencies [1].

Tether’s Hadron tokenisation platform is “one technology being considered”; the MoU does not commit Kazakhstan to adopting it [1]. NBK Deputy Governor Binur Zhalenov said the bank intends to “thoroughly study international best practices in stablecoin issuance and real-world asset tokenization” [1].

For scale, CoinDesk describes USDT as having about $140 billion in circulation and Tether’s tokenised gold product XAUT at roughly $3.3 billion [1]. Those are CoinDesk’s figures, not numbers from the MoU.

Why it matters. A central bank sitting at the table with a private stablecoin issuer is a notable signal of interest. But the published commitments are study, proposal and workshops. There is no issuance date, reserve model, legal status or volume for a tenge token.

2. Binance: four tokenised securities accepted as margin collateral

Confirmed. Binance added four bStocks tokenised securities as eligible collateral on 7 October 2026 at 12:00 UTC (13:00 BST): JPMorgan Chase (JPMB), Eli Lilly (LLYB), Securitize Corp (SECZB) and StablecoinX Inc. (USDEB) [2][3].

The key terms, as set out in Binance’s announcement and The Defiant’s summary [2][3]:

  • Where: Cross Margin, Portfolio Margin and Portfolio Margin Pro only.
  • How much counts: a 50% collateral ratio in Cross Margin and Portfolio Margin. In plain terms, a holding worth $10 counts as about $5 of margin. Portfolio Margin Pro uses a separate tiered schedule [2].
  • What you cannot do: borrowing these tokens is not currently supported [3].
  • Who: not available in restricted regions; Regular, VIP 1 and VIP 2 users must complete a suitability questionnaire first [3].
  • Market hours: The Defiant reports that the rules discount collateral value and freeze index prices when US equity markets close [2]. Crypto margin runs around the clock; the underlying shares do not.

Why it matters. The live TSN explainer on RWAs separated cash-like tokens (Treasuries, money-market funds, gold) from credit tokens (loans, CLOs). Tokenised equities are a third risk story again: their value moves with a listed company’s share price. Accepting them as collateral is a utility step, and the 50% haircut is the exchange’s own statement that they are riskier collateral than cash.

Source note. The Defiant’s article body is metered and did not load for TSN; its headline, standfirst and meta description did [2]. The fuller terms come from Binance’s 7 October announcement as reproduced on an announcement-tracking site [3]. Treat [3] as a mirror of Binance’s text, not as Binance’s own page.

Update, 8 October 2026

A DeFi comparison. Binance’s move came 12 days after a similar one in decentralised finance. On 25 September 2026 Aave V4 on Base began accepting seven Coinbase tokenised stocks (Apple, Amazon, Alphabet, Meta, Microsoft, Nvidia and Tesla) as collateral for USDC loans, for eligible non-US users [6][7]. The Block, citing risk adviser LlamaRisk, reports an initial collateral cap of “roughly $29 million” across the seven stocks and collateral factors of 65% to 79% [6]. Aave handles the market-hours problem in a similar way to Binance: its Chainlink equity price feeds hold the last published price over weekends and US holidays [7].

3. GSR commits $100 million to Hare, an onchain vault business

Confirmed. Crypto trading and market-making firm GSR is committing $100 million to Hare, a new business built with liquidity platform Turtle that will create and manage onchain vaults, CoinDesk reported on 7 October 2026 [4].

The structure matters more than the headline [4]:

  • The commitment is multi-year and mostly a credit facility, with GSR’s capital going into Hare’s products as anchor liquidity before outside investors arrive.
  • Hare starts with two Aave-powered vaults: Hare USD Earn, which accepts major dollar stablecoins, and Hare Gold Earn, which lets holders of Paxos’ tokenised gold products PAXG and PAXGy earn yield. Paxos Labs is partnering on the gold product.
  • Hare says it will focus on the credit side: assessing collateral and counterparties, and how positions might behave under market stress.

“GSR’s commitment is deployment capital,” Hare CEO Connor Milner told CoinDesk. “Issuers get liquidity from day one, and allocators see GSR’s own capital in the same vaults as theirs” [4].

What a vault is, briefly. Investors deposit assets into a smart contract and a manager, or “curator”, decides how to deploy them across lending markets and other strategies [4]. That can turn an idle token into collateral or a source of yield. It also adds layers of risk: the lending protocol, the curator’s choices and the borrowers on the other side.

Why it matters. PAXG is one of the cash-like examples in TSN’s RWA explainer: about one ounce of vaulted gold per token. Putting it into a lending vault does not change the gold, but it does change the holder’s exposure. The yield comes from lending activity, which is a credit story.

4. Orca and Loopscale merge as Formation

Confirmed. Solana decentralised exchange Orca and lending platform Loopscale have merged under the name Formation, according to an announcement shared with The Block and published on 7 October 2026 (23:01 BST) [5].

What the announcement says [5]:

  • Leadership: Loopscale co-founder Luke Truitt is CEO; Orca’s Christopher Montagano becomes chief strategy and legal officer.
  • Aim: combine Orca’s trading infrastructure with Loopscale’s lending and investment vaults, giving emerging assets a route from issuance to financing and trading, and move into capital-intensive sectors including AI, energy, robotics and defence.
  • Partners: Formation says it is already working with Figure, Shinhan Asset Management, Superstate, R3 and Securitize to bring assets to market and help distribute them.
  • Tokens: both existing protocols remain foundations of the ORCA and xORCA token network.
  • Plans: new issuer tools and investment strategies over the next 12 months, and eventually access to regulated US capital markets.
  • Terms: financial terms were not disclosed.

The Block reports that Orca has processed more than $550 billion in trading volume since 2021, and that Loopscale reports more than $150 million in deposits and more than $2 billion in loans facilitated [5]. Treat both as company-reported.

“Liquidity alone isn’t enough to scale an asset,” Montagano said [5].

Patterns across the week

Collateral is the new distribution channel

Two of the four stories are about making tokenised assets usable, not just available: Binance accepting share tokens as margin [2][3], and Hare putting stablecoins and tokenised gold to work in lending vaults [4]. Formation’s pitch, “from issuance to financing and trading”, is the same idea at protocol level [5].

Haircuts and hours are the fine print

A 50% collateral ratio and frozen index prices outside US market hours are Binance’s answers to a basic mismatch: 24/7 crypto margin against assets that trade on a weekday timetable [2]. Expect similar rules wherever tokenised equities are used as collateral.

Public-sector interest is still at the study stage

Kazakhstan’s MoU shows a central bank willing to explore a stablecoin and tokenisation with a private issuer [1]. Exploration is not issuance, and the published text commits to proposals and pilots, not to a token.

What this does not prove

  • That Kazakhstan will issue a tenge stablecoin, or use Tether’s Hadron. The MoU is exploratory and does not commit the country to either [1].
  • That tokenised equities are as safe as cash-like collateral. Binance’s own 50% ratio and market-hours rules say otherwise [2][3].
  • How much of Binance’s margin activity now uses bStocks. No uptake figures were published in the sources checked.
  • That GSR’s $100 million is $100 million of cash in vaults today. It is a multi-year commitment, mostly a credit facility [4].
  • Any vault yield or safety level. Coverage did not publish target yields or loss limits, and onchain vaults carry protocol, curator and counterparty risk [4].
  • Formation’s valuation or deal terms. Financial terms were not disclosed; the volume and loan figures are company-reported [5].
  • Any investment case. TSN is not offering investment advice on USDT, XAUT, PAXG, ORCA, xORCA or any bStocks token.

The Bottom Line

This week’s RWA news is less about new tokens and more about what tokens can do. Binance now lets four tokenised securities back margin, at half their value [2][3]. GSR is underwriting a vault business that puts stablecoins and tokenised gold into Aave lending markets [4]. Orca and Loopscale have combined to pitch issuance-to-financing rails for AI, energy and robotics assets [5]. Kazakhstan’s central bank, meanwhile, is only at the study stage with Tether [1].

The useful question stays the same as in TSN’s RWA explainer: what sits under the token, and what happens to it once it is pledged, lent or vaulted?

Related on TSN: RWA cash-like vs credit: what backs the token, and how to tell (https://tsnmedia.org/rwa-cash-like-vs-credit/).

Sources

  1. Krisztian Sandor, “Tether tapped by Kazakhstan’s central bank to explore stablecoin and tokenization,” CoinDesk, 7 October 2026. https://www.coindesk.com/business/2026/10/07/tether-tapped-by-kazakhstan-s-central-bank-to-explore-stablecoin-and-tokenization
  2. The Defiant Team, “Binance Adds JPMorgan and Eli Lilly bStocks as Margin Collateral,” The Defiant (Converge), 7 October 2026 (headline, standfirst and meta description only; body metered). https://thedefiant.io/converge/tradfi-and-fintech/binance-adds-jpmorgan-and-eli-lilly-bstocks-as-margin-collateral
  3. Binance, “Binance Will Add 4 bStocks Tokenized Securities as Collateral Asset,” 7 October 2026, as reproduced by Tokenearly (announcement mirror). https://tokenearly.com/announcement/6ac5c3c8ef4bd2e7553dbf1a.html
  4. Krisztian Sandor, “Crypto trading giant GSR’s new vault business is a $100M bet on onchain credit,” CoinDesk, 7 October 2026. https://www.coindesk.com/business/2026/10/07/crypto-trading-giant-gsr-s-new-vault-business-is-a-usd100m-bet-on-onchain-credit
  5. Kyle Baird, “Solana’s Orca merges with Loopscale in push to finance AI, robotics and defense,” The Block, 7 October 2026. https://www.theblock.co/news/defi/2026-10-07-solanas-orca-merges-with-loopscale-push-to-finance-ai-robotics-defense-417924
  6. Brian Danga, “Aave V4 on Base adds Coinbase tokenized stocks as collateral for USDC loans,” The Block, 25 September 2026, 15:00 BST (citing an Aave statement and LlamaRisk’s parameters). https://www.theblock.co/news/defi/2026-09-25-aave-v4-on-base-adds-coinbase-tokenized-stocks-as-collateral-for-usdc-loans-416372
  7. Aave, “Coinbase Tokenized Stocks Now Live on Aave V4” (blog), 25 September 2026. https://aave.com/blog/coinbase-tokenized-stocks

Share this story

More in this category

Latest on TSN

Free TSN tools: crypto calculator, Flux dashboard and more.